‘Dotty Ditties, Volume 4: These Are New Songs’

Bandcamp (purchase)

Individual Song Breakdowns


About the EP:

Composition for this one began in the midst of tour, in a noisy van, in summer 2022. The opening chordal stabs of “Haulin’ Ass” either came tumbling or bumbling out, and it all cascaded from there.


1. Haulin’ Ass
2. During the Night
3. I Smile, Prima
4. Errant, Cagy
5. Desideratum

 · Travis Orbin - Drum set, Percussion, Bass, Guitar, Mandolin, Santoor, Synthesizer,
   Theremin, Programming, Vocals
 · Mary Voutsas - Piano on 4
 · Piano engineered by Blaine Misner of Cue Recording Studios
 · Vocal editing by Gabriel Riccio
 · Composed, Produced, and Mixed by Travis Orbin
 · Lyrics by Travis Orbin
 · Mastered by Taylor Larson at MixWave Studios
 · Cover Art by Travis Orbin

Thank you to my fans, friends, associates, and family; especially my mother for her perpetual support and my neighbors for putting up with all of the racket. Also, thank you to my endorsements: Pearl Drums, Zildjian Cymbals, Remo drumheads, Vic Firth drumsticks, RTOM drum accessories, Vratim drum shoes, and E-Pad! Practice Pads.

Cover Art Construction

My original intent with this idea was to pursue the trope of obscuring my face, in a way that was able to be somewhat easily mimicked for future releases (at least for volume 5, and perhaps 6). It didn’t matter if it looked kinda cheap or kitsch. Spray-painting proved to be pretty difficult! Luckily, I had a few big cardboard boxes to avail me in practice. The bottom portion of the image was altered with Glitché, then imported into the Gimp session and further processed altogether. Lots of texturizing and experimentation. I am probably conflating it with that period of time, but the visual strikes me as having a Cronenberg flair. I watched a handful of his movies around then.


‘Dotty Ditties, Volume 4: These Are New Songs’ Gear List:

“Haulin’ Ass”
· 12”/16” Reference Pure tom-toms with Remo Vintage Emperor coated batters/Emperor clear resonants
· 6.5”x14” Reference brass snare drum with Controlled Sound X/Ambassador Hazy snare side
· 20” Reference Pure bass drum with Powerstroke III coated batter/Ebony Powerstroke III ported resonant
Cymbals (from left to right, player’s perspective):
20" K Heavy Ride, 19" K Dark Thin Crash, custom hats (14” K Constantinople bottom (top) / 14” K Custom High Definition bottom (bottom)), 11” FX Oriental “Trash” Splash, 8” A Custom Splash, 13" A New Beat Hi-hats, 19” K Custom Hybrid Crash, 18" K Custom Special Dry China, 19” K China
“I Smile, Prima”
· same setup as “Haulin’ Ass”, except with a regular ‘stack’ (14” A Custom EFX / 16” FX Oriental China “Trash”) in place of the 11” splash, a small ‘stack’ (8” FX Trashformer / 10” A Custom EFX) in place of the 8” splash, and a 20” K Custom Flat Ride in place of the 19” K China
“Errant, Cagy”
· same setup as “Haulin’ Ass”, except with a regular ‘stack’ in place of the 11” splash, and an 18” K Dark Thin Crash in place of the 19” K Custom Hybrid
· same bass drum setup as previous tunes, but played with a Vic Firth VicKick fleece-covered beater
· 4”x14” maple piccolo snare with Controlled Sound X/Ambassador Hazy snare side
· Cymbals (that are actually played):
22” K Constantinople Renaissance Ride, 15” K Light Hi-hats

Back to Solo Music